2012 Monsoon Cup

Brett Gibson December 3, 2012 0

While the Dinghy fleet racing eyes head to Melbourne for the Sail Melbourne event this week, the match racing clan look to Malaysia for the Monsoon Cup.

© Copyright 2012 Monsoon Cup. All Rights Reserved

A great event sailed from the Island of Pulau Duyong in the province of Terengganu – this will be it’s 7th year.  It’s now Malaysia’s second biggest sporting event behind the F1 Grand Prix.

Aussie Match Racing stalwart Peter Gilmour has won the event twice (2005 and 2008) while Olympian Ben Ainslee has also won it in 2010.  Last years winner from Great Britain Ian Williams is a 2 time winner also.  His 2011 win going nicely with the win in 2007.

This year there are 3 Aussie Skippers.

  • Peter Gilmour of YANMAR Racing
  • Keith Swinton of Black Swan Racing
  •  David Gilmour of Team Gilmour.

Good luck to the Aussies, you can follow the updates via facebook or twitter.